Empathy needs a OTR plugin.

July 25, 2011 at 11:37 am (Uncategorized)

I just switched over to using Empathy for my IM client. I really like it better then Pidgin because it has much smoother integration with GNOME3 and is slicker looking. However, one of the things that it is really lacking is the fact that it doesn’t have plugins. Since it doesn’t have plugins, I can’t use encryption such as OTR (Off The Record).

I hope the Empathy fairies here this and that OTR gets added some time.

1 Comment

  1. Bongo said,

    Last I checked the Empathy developers blatantly stated that they won’t implement OTR, ever… which puts it firmly into the “Avoid at all costs” category until further notice

Leave a Reply

